Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

Tuition/Financial Aid


The full tuition rate for the 2017–2018 academic year is $17,413 per quarter for Full Tuition (first eight quarters of residency) and $4,353 per quarter for Advanced Study (study in the 9th quarter or later). This Full Tuition rate is applied for the first eight (8) quarters of the student’s residency, and the Advanced Study rate is applied after the point (quarters 9+), up until the student is neither receiving a scholarship or stipend.  Students who no longer need to register for courses and are not receiving a formal scholarship or stipend (typically in the 4th year and beyond) register for Continuous Registration, which is $100 per quarter.

More information on tuition can be found at tuition and fees page on The Graduate School’s website.


Beginning in September 2018, all students admitted to the Clinical Psychology PhD Program in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences will receive a Research Assistant Scholarship or equivalent award that provides 100% tuition remission, fully subsidized University health insurance, and a monthly stipend (at least $2,643 monthly for 12 months or $31,716 annually). As part of the acceptance of the financial support, students are required to apply for external funding.  The Clinical Psychology PhD Program does not provide funded Teaching Assistantships.

More information can be found on the financial aid pages of the Graduate School’s website:

Travel Grants

All students in the Clinical Psychology PhD Program qualify for a limited number of travel grants to present research at academic conferences. These travels grants are provided by the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences and The Graduate School.

Financial Aid

Students have full access to Northwestern’s Student Financial Services to assist with direct loans for tuition and cost-of-living expenses. For more information on student loans visit The Graduate School at Northwestern University.